The Wisconsin Constitution requires, with few exceptions, that all taxable property in the state be taxed uniformly. The uniform basis for assessment, established by the legislature, is the property's full value that could ordinarily be obtained at a private sale. Wisconsin state law requires that all taxable property be valued annually on January 1, and these assessed values will be used on the tax bills created in December of that year.
Changes In Assessment
- Disputing Assessment Values
The assessor must send a written notice to property owners whose real estate assessments have increased by $300 or more. The notice must show the new assessment. This must be done at least 10 days before the board of review meets.